The Online Photographer

Check out our new site at!

Tuesday, October 17, 2006

Online Four-Thirds Lens Catalogue

Olympus Imaging Corporation, Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. and Sigma Corporation have jointly compiled a detailed catalogue of exchangeable lenses for their digital single-lens reflex camera systems based on the Four-Thirds standard. Supporting companies of Four-Thirds include Eastman Kodak Company, Fuji Photo Film Co., Ltd., Leica camera AG, Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd., Olympus Imaging Corp., Sanyo Electric Co., Ltd., and Sigma Corporation.

"The core design concept of the Four Thirds system is to facilitate optimization of the size, performance, and extendibility of digital cameras and lenses. In addition, a standardized lens mount allows photographers to freely combine interchangeable lenses and cameras from different manufacturers. This is the key feature of the Four Thirds system, the one that makes it possible to explore the full potential of digital photography." catalog



Blogger Robin P said...

If only Fuji would actually join in the Four_Thirds club and produce a camera with a Fuji sensor (and Sigma with a Foveon sensor) things would really begin to get interesting.....

Cheers, Robin

4:08 PM  
Blogger William said...

Does this mean that the new Leica M8 will not have the 35mm 2:3 aspect ratio?

10:26 AM  
Blogger Robin P said...

William, no need to worry - the M8 is a rangefinder camera with 2:3 shaped sensor, it's the new Leica Digilux 3 DSLR which is based on the Four Thirds standard.

3:42 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home